Your browser (Internet Explorer 7) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

Chartered Secretaries Qualifying Scheme (CSQS)

The Chartered Secretaries Qualifying Scheme (CSQS) is a unique professional qualification which equips those working within governance, risk and compliance, and the company secretarial sector, with the knowledge and skills for success in their role.

The CSQS is a post graduate level award that qualifies professionals in governance, strategic management and company secretarial practice. CSQS is one of the most broad-based qualifying schemes available, opening the door to a variety of different career paths for successful graduates and giving them chartered secretary status upon completion.


The qualification consists of 8 papers:

  • Financial Reporting and Analysis 
  • Applied Business Law 
  • Corporate Governance OR Health Service Governance
  • Corporate Law 
  • Financial Decision Making
  • Strategy in Practice
  • Corporate Secretarial Practice
  • Chartered Secretaries Case Study 

Each module consists of a final three hour written exam, plus 15 minutes reading time. The pass mark for each exam is 50%. 

Entry requirements

No formal entry requirements. Ideally students will have industry experience and / or a related degree in IFA Level 4 and 5.


Between 2 to 4 years (depending on whether 1 or 2 exams taken per sitting).


Exam fees £1,680

Registration fee £129

OneStudy fees £7200